Skip to main content

MANIFESTO FOR A FRUGAL AND DESIRABLE SUPPLY CHAIN

Today, we note that after a period of sobriety forced by the COVID-19 pandemic, and despite our efforts, our greenhouse gas emissions are still not on a virtuous trajectory. This acknowledgement of failure, together with other environmental challenges such as the collapse of biodiversity, the increasing scarcity of certain resources, and the fragility of our supply chains in an increasingly volatile and complex global context, has led us to improve our vision.

Our Supply Chains must become sustainably frugal and positive, i.e. sober to produce just what is needed, optimize flows, reduce fossil fuels and embody strong values based on collaboration, solidarity and the meaning of our professions. In this way, they will contribute to consolidating the organizational chains of companies and society as a whole.

Our supply chains must become sustainably frugal and positive, i.e. sober to produce just what is needed, optimize flows, reduce fossil fuels , and embody strong values based on collaboration, solidarity and the meaning of our professions.

For years, by optimizing flows, the Supply Chain has enabled globalization, while underestimating or failing to integrate the impacts it generates on the planet and its inhabitants. For greater agility and responsiveness, we have committed ourselves to ever more raw materials, ever more kilometers, ever more fossil fuels. In response to this strategy, France Supply Chain published its Manifesto two years ago.

Today, we note that after a period of sobriety forced by the COVID-19 pandemic, and despite our efforts, our greenhouse gas emissions are still not on a virtuous trajectory. This acknowledgement of failure, together with other environmental challenges such as the collapse of biodiversity, the increasing scarcity of certain resources, and the fragility of our supply chains in an increasingly volatile and complex global context, has led us to improve our vision.

Our supply chains must become sustainably frugal and positive, i.e. sober to produce just what is needed, optimize flows, reduce fossil fuels, and embody strong values based on collaboration, solidarity and the meaning of our professions. In this way, they will contribute to consolidating the organizational chains of companies and society.

transport-less-relocation
Chapter 1
"Transport less, transport and store better" levers for a more sober supply chain

As the climatic, ecological and social impacts of our transport systems must be rapidly reduced, it is essential to take advantage of all available opportunities to act on transport modes: more sustainable energies, multimodal solutions and slowing down flows.

At the same time, we need to design new supply chain organizations to bring factories closer to their customers, relocate certain activities, and review the place and role of intermediaries. To achieve this, we need to pool more resources, maximize the use of all means to fill trucks, ships, trains, warehouses, etc., while banishing empty packaging.

New logistics and industrial buildings will have to be "energy positive", while renovated buildings will have to use the best possible solutions to achieve this objective.

Chapter 2
Making circularity possible

The linear model based on constant growth in consumption and waste of resources has shaped our supply chains. Faced with this unsustainable model, the circular economy proposes a different trajectory: " doing more and better with fewer resources ", preserving raw materials and products, and intensifying their uses. The Supply Chain bears the responsibility of making circularity possible now.

Standardization is the basis of the circular economy: a common language for data fluidity, products using interchangeable components and common maintenance.

The logistics of collection, return, reallocation of use and repair require mastery of data and flows. Tracing objects, their uses and their composition in order to maximize their lifespan, and recovering raw materials and waste at the end of their life, all require detailed knowledge of the products and raw materials available.

Thinking and organizing these spatial loops, and anticipating the perpetual evolution of supply chains in the face of variability and constraints on resources, are the foundations of a circular supply chain.

Circularity
transport-less-relocation
Chapter 3
Creating collaborative ecosystems

Faced with increasingly stringent requirements, the complexities of transport and storage responses, flow articulation and a circular Supply Chain vision, Supply Chain players will have to set up mutualization ecosystems based on trust, fair value sharing and respect for confidentiality.

The emergence of trusted third parties will accelerate the implementation of these principles.

The maturity of optimization tools(digital twins, machine learning, artificial intelligence, operational research) coupled with ever finer traceability, will increase the power of these ecosystems tenfold.

Chapter 4
A path to fulfillment

The diversity of our professions, ongoing training and greater inclusion will enable us to offer dynamic, qualifying and attractive career paths.

Contributing to the environmental transformation of society makes Supply Chain employees proud. The attractiveness of Supply Chain professions depends on strengthening training and skills, and reducing the arduousness of physical jobs. In the future, the Supply Chain will continue to be a social springboard, supported by a policy of continuous training to offer optimum skills and expertise to those who work in it.

Development path
Manifesto for a supply chain
France Supply Chain brings together companies, local authorities, associations, schools and universities. We are working to lay the foundations for a new, shared approach to the supply chain, one that is responsible for the planet and society as a whole.
Circularity and collaboration will be the pillars of the resilience of sober Supply Chains. Tomorrow, more than today, those who make up the Supply Chain will be proud of their commitment to meeting these challenges.

* Content reserved for members or on request

* The Manifesto is available in English and French.

FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN © All rights reserved

Skip to main content

MANIFESTE POUR UNE SUPPLY CHAIN FRUGALE ET DÉSIRABLE

Aujourd’hui, nous observons qu’après une période de sobriété forcée par la pandémie COVID-19 et malgré nos efforts, nos émissions de Gaz à Effet de Serre ne sont toujours pas sur une trajectoire vertueuse. Ce constat d’échec, les autres défis environnementaux comme l’effondrement de la biodiversité, la raréfaction de certaines ressources, la fragilité de nos Supply Chains dans un contexte mondial toujours plus volatil et complexe, nous amènent à améliorer cette vision.

Nos Supply Chains doivent devenir durablement frugales et positives, c’est-à-dire sobres pour produire le juste nécessaire, optimiser les flux, réduire les énergies fossiles et être porteuses de valeurs fortes reposant sur la collaboration, la solidarité et le sens de nos métiers. Ainsi elles contribueront à consolider les chaînes organisationnelles des entreprises et de la Société.

Nos supply chains doivent devenir durablement frugales et positives, c’est-à-dire sobres pour produire le juste nécessaire, optimiser les flux, réduire les énergies fossiles et être porteuses de valeurs fortes reposant sur la collaboration, la solidarité et le sens de nos métiers.

Pendant des années, en optimisant les flux, la Supply Chain a permis la mondialisation tout en sous-estimant ou n’intégrant pas les impacts qu’elle génère sur la planète et ses habitants. Pour plus d’agilité et de réactivité, nous avons engagé toujours plus de matières premières, plus de kilomètres, plus d’énergie fossile. En réponse à cette stratégie sans lendemain, il y a deux ans, France Supply Chain publiait son Manifeste.

Aujourd’hui, nous observons qu’après une période de sobriété forcée par la pandémie COVID-19 et malgré nos efforts, nos émissions de Gaz à Effet de Serre ne sont toujours pas sur une trajectoire vertueuse. Ce constat d’échec, les autres défis environnementaux comme l’effondrement de la biodiversité, la raréfaction de certaines ressources, la fragilité de nos Supply Chains dans un contexte mondial toujours plus volatil et complexe, nous amènent à améliorer cette vision.

Nos Supply Chains doivent devenir durablement frugales et positives, c’est-à-dire sobres pour produire le juste nécessaire, optimiser les flux, réduire les énergies fossiles et être porteuses de valeurs fortes reposant sur la collaboration, la solidarité et le sens de nos métiers. Ainsi elles contribueront à consolider les chaînes organisationnelles des entreprises et de la société.

transporter-moins-relocalisation
Chapitre 1
« Transporter moins, transporter et stocker mieux » leviers pour une supply chain plus sobre

Les impacts climatiques, écologiques et sociaux de nos transports doivent rapidement diminuer, il est de fait primordial d’actionner l’ensemble des opportunités disponibles pour agir sur les modes de transport : des énergies plus durables, des solutions multimodales et le ralentissement des flux.

Dans le même temps, nous devons concevoir de nouvelles organisations des chaînes d’approvisionnement pour le rapprochement des usines de leurs clients, relocaliser certaines activités, revoir la place et le rôle des intermédiaires. Pour y parvenir il faut mutualiser davantage, maximiser l’utilisation de tous les moyens afin de remplir camions, bateaux, trains, entrepôts, etc. tout en bannissant le vide dans les emballages.

Les nouveaux bâtiments logistiques et industriels devront être “à énergie positive”, ceux rénovés devront exploiter les meilleures solutions possibles pour tendre vers cet objectif.

Chapitre 2
Rendre possible la circularité

Le modèle linéaire fondé sur une croissance constante de consommation et de gaspillage des ressources a façonné nos Supply Chain. Face à ce modèle non soutenable, l’économie circulaire propose une autre trajectoire « faire plus et mieux avec moins de ressources », préserver les matières premières et les produits, intensifier leurs usages. La Supply Chain porte la responsabilité de rendre possible dès maintenant la circularité.

La standardisation est la base de l’économie circulaire : un langage commun pour une fluidité des données, des produits utilisant des composants interchangeables et à la maintenance commune.

La logistique de collecte, de retour, de réallocation de l’usage, de réparation, nécessite la maîtrise des données et des flux. Tracer les objets, leurs usages et leur composition afin de maximiser leur durée de vie, valoriser les matières premières en fin de vie, les déchets, exigent une connaissance fine des produits et des matières premières disponibles.

Penser et organiser ces boucles spatiales, anticiper les perpétuelles évolutions des chaînes d’approvisionnement face aux variabilités et contraintes sur les ressources, sont les fondements d’une Supply Chain circulaire.

Circularité
transporter-moins-relocalisation
Chapitre 3
Faire émerger des écosystèmes collaboratifs

Face aux exigences de plus en plus fortes, aux complexités des réponses transports et stockage, d’articulation des flux et de vision Supply Chain circulaire, les acteurs de la Supply Chain devront mettre en place des écosystèmes de mutualisation basés sur la confiance fondée sur un partage équitable de la valeur et au respect de la confidentialité.

L’émergence de tiers de confiance permettra d’accélérer la mise en œuvre de ces principes.

La maturité des outils d’optimisation (jumeau numérique, machine learning, intelligence artificielle, recherche opérationnelle) couplée à une traçabilité toujours plus fine, décupleront la puissance de ces écosystèmes.

Chapitre 4
Vivre des parcours source d’épanouissement

La diversité des métiers, une formation permanente et une inclusion plus prononcée permettront de proposer des parcours dynamiques, qualifiants et attractifs.

Contribuer à la transformation environnementale de la société rend fiers les collaborateurs de la Supply Chain. L’attractivité des métiers de la Supply Chain passe par un renforcement de la formation et des compétences, une réduction de la pénibilité des métiers physiques. Demain, la Supply Chain sera toujours ce tremplin social, s’appuyant sur une politique de formation continue pour offrir compétences et expertises optimales à ce qui la font.

Parcours épanouissement
Manifeste pour une supply chain
France Supply Chain fédère les entreprises, les collectivités, les associations, les écoles et universités. Nous œuvrons ainsi pour structurer les bases d’une nouvelle approche commune de la Supply Chain, responsable à l’égard de la planète et de la société.
Circularité et collaboration seront les piliers de la résilience des Supply Chains sobres. Demain plus qu’aujourd’hui ceux qui font la Supply Chain seront fiers de leur engagement pour relever ces défis.

* Contenu réservé aux membres ou sur demande

* Le Manifeste sera disponible en anglais en janvier 2024

FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN © All rights reserved

Credits and Legal Mentions      I      RGPD      I      S'abonner      I      Contact      I      Plan du site