Skip to main content
loading="lazy"
21 October 2021

The shippers' coalition commits itself to a decarbonised maritime transport

To accelerate the deployment of low-carbon shipping solutions FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN and AUTF launch a call to the shippers' coalition

Faced with constant environmental challenges, companies are thinking about solutions for logistics that have a lower impact on the environment. However, one subject remains complex: the decarbonisation of maritime transport.

Although innovative solutions, such as biofuels, can currently be deployed, they do not seem to be sustainable in the long term because of the scarcity of energy sources used and the lack of energy sobriety which we absolutely need at global level. Yet maritime transport is a vital part of the functioning of our economy, which is more than ever based on international trade. 

With this in mind, FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN and its Supply Chain4Good Lab, in partnership with the Association des Utilisateurs de Transport de Fret (AUTF), are mobilising to take their approach towards low-carbon maritime transport astep further.

They call for the mobilisation of international shippers, who are at the heart of the virtuous circle of this transition, to join the coalition and become actors of a responsible maritime fleet.

A first solution with a predominantly vegetable drive

FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN and the AUTF are already initiating the first concrete actions, with the aim of reaching an industrial scale.  

A group already made up of 11 shippers, and set to grow, is committed to loading a series of mostly wind-powered container ships from 2024 onwards, for one or more weekly transatlantic routes between Europe and North America.

Already supported by the Maritime Community, they will launch a call for tenders at the beginning of 2022, the closing date of which is planned for mid-2022, in order to give their action the scope to meet the environmental challenges.

At a time when the world must reinvent itself in the face of major environmental challenges, the Supply Chain, the true nervous system of the economy, is once again proving that it is one of the keys to renewal.


About France Supply Chain

In an increasingly complex world, making the Supply Chain a lever for a more sustainable world is an essential challenge for all companies. This is why France Supply Chain brings relevant solutions to all Supply Chain actors, thanks to its network of 450 affiliated companies and an approach based on collective intelligence.

About the Association of Freight Transport Users (AUTF)

AUTF is a professional association of shippers, representing industrial and commercial companies in their role as transport contractors. Multi-sectoral and resolutely multimodal, AUTF's action is part of a global approach to improving the economic and environmental performance of transport chains in order to improve the competitiveness of companies and the attractiveness of the territory.

Press Contact: CLC Communications

Gilles Senneville and Laurence Bachelot

01 42 93 04 04
g.senneville@clccom.com
l.bachelot@clccom.com 

Spread the word

NEWS

EVENTS

PRESS
FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN © All rights reserved

21 octobre 2021

La coalition des chargeurs s’engage pour un transport maritime décarboné

Pour accélérer le déploiement des solutions de transport maritime bas carbone FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN et l’AUTF lancent un appel à la coalition des chargeurs

Confrontées à des défis environnementaux permanents, les entreprises réfléchissent à des solutions permettant une logistique ayant un impact plus faible sur l’environnement. Cependant, un sujet reste complexe : la décarbonation du transport maritime.

Si des solutions innovantes, comme les biocarburants, sont actuellement déployables, elles restent des solutions qui ne semblent pas pérennes sur le long terme en raison de la rareté des sources d’énergies utilisées et du manque de sobriété énergétique dont nous avons absolument besoin au niveau mondial. Or le transport maritime est un organe vital du fonctionnement de notre économie plus que jamais basée sur les échanges internationaux. 

Fort de ce constat, FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN et son Lab Supply Chain4Good, en partenariat avec l’Association des Utilisateurs de Transport de Fret (AUTF), se mobilisent pour aller plus loin dans leur démarche vers un transport maritime bas carbone.

Ils appellent à une mobilisation des chargeurs internationaux, qui sont au cœur du cercle vertueux de cette transition, afin qu’ils rejoignent la coalition et deviennent acteurs d’une flotte maritime responsable.

Une première solution à propulsion majoritairement vélique

Dès aujourd’hui, FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN et l’AUTF, initient les premières actions concrètes, avec la volonté de se situer à une échelle industrielle.  

Un groupe déjà constitué de 11 chargeurs, et amené à s’agrandir, s’engage à charger, dès 2024, une série de porte-container majoritairement propulsé à la force du vent, pour une ou plusieurs liaisons hebdomadaires transatlantiques entre l’Europe et l’Amérique du Nord.

D’ores et déjà soutenus par l’appétence de la Communauté Maritime, ils lanceront début 2022 un appel d’offre, dont la clôture est prévue mi 2022, afin de donner à leur action l’ampleur à la hauteur des enjeux environnementaux.

Au moment où le monde doit se réinventer face aux grands enjeux environnementaux, la Supply Chain, véritable système nerveux de l’économie, apporte encore une fois le témoignage qu’elle est une des clefs du renouveau.


À propos de France Supply Chain

Dans un monde de plus en plus complexe, faire de la Supply Chain un levier pour un monde plus durable est un enjeu essentiel pour toutes les entreprises. C’est pourquoi France Supply Chain apporte des solutions pertinentes à tous les acteurs de la Supply Chain, grâce à son réseau de 450 entreprises affiliées et une démarche reposant sur l’intelligence collective.

À propos de de l’Association des Utilisateurs de Transport de Fret (AUTF)

Association professionnelle des chargeurs, l’AUTF représente les entreprises industrielles et commerciales dans leur fonction de donneurs d’ordre aux transports. Multisectorielle et résolument multimodale, l’action de l’AUTF s’inscrit dans une démarche globale d’amélioration de la performance économique et environnementale des chaînes de transport au service de la compétitivité des entreprises et de l’attractivité du territoire.

Contact presse : CLC Communications

Gilles Senneville et Laurence Bachelot

01 42 93 04 04 
g.senneville@clccom.com
l.bachelot@clccom.com 

ACTUALITÉS


ÉVÈNEMENTS


PRESSE

FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN © All rights reserved

Credits and Legal Mentions      I      RGPD      I      Contact