Skip to main content
loading="lazy"
January 25, 2024

Inspiring Webinar: tête à tête with the Industrial Director of Ateliers de Maroquinerie Louis Vuitton

On Wednesday January 17, the spotlight turned to Valérie Dubois, Industrial Director of Ateliers de Maroquinerie Louis Vuitton. With 5000 employees across 9 sites, this woman of influence reveals the behind-the-scenes of her professional and personal daily life, offering a rare insight into the life of an accomplished executive. This immersion in her day-to-day reality reveals the challenges she brilliantly meets and the inspiring lessons she shares with the public.

The daily life of an Industrial Director

Valérie Dubois

Thanks to questions from Marie-Laure Furgala, Director of KEDGE BUSINESS SCHOOL's ISLI MS/MSC in Global Supply Chain, Valérie Dubois takes us through her busy days, oscillating between strategic meetings at head office and immersion in production workshops. This duality between the tangible in the field and strategic discussions in the head office reveals her unique balance.

As a mother of two, she also shares her approach to reconciling an intense professional life with a fulfilling family life. She explains, for example, that she quickly made the choice to be less present, to sometimes come home late, but to be 100% present to share quality moments. In this way, she was able to combat her feelings of guilt.

When it comes to managing her time, she shared with us her clever strategy of hiring an au-pair. This decision has enabled her to put an end to the frantic race against time. What's more, in order to take a step back when operational demands become overwhelming, she regularly plans moments dedicated to her well-being, whether through relaxing pampering sessions or running sessions to free her mind from the daily hustle and bustle.

Break the myth of "luck" and cultivate self-confidence

As a woman in a leadership position, Valérie Dubois reveals her career path, highlighting how she overcame the obstacles she had sometimes imposed on herself, notably through the way she presented herself and explained her presence in the position of Site Manager. " I used to say, 'I've been lucky', but that's not true, it's something you bring on yourself, and it's the result of who you are and the work you do".

She encourages women to be clear in their positioning right from the start of their career, to dare to change and to test, because that's how you learn continuously and because "that's what gives salt in your career". What's more, such trajectories help build self-confidence and confidence for the future.

A SKETCHNOTE BY MYRIAM DUMANCHIN-MAKNI

A sketchnote by Myriam Dumanchin-Makni

Her views on coaching and how she has used it in her career

Valérie Dubois

If I had to do it all over again, I'd call on them sooner to get feedback, coaching and 360° vision.

According to Marie-Laure Furgala's guest, this type of service helps to build self-confidence, legitimize oneself and therefore dare. It gives you the keys and the mindset you need to compete for a new position or build the next stage of your career.

But how do you find them, and how do you find trusted mentors? As a manager, Valérie Dubois has a clear opinion: "Companies need to have a real mentoring strategy, it's really important". One-to-one support from a senior employee is a career booster, and also helps to retain talent. This is as true for a junior as it is for an experienced employee whose qualities are recognized and whom we want to take on new responsibilities.

Operations and production: an enlightened passion

Operations are more than just processes; they embody agility, complexity, diversity, and an unwavering quest for sustainability. It's more than just mechanics, it's a source of inspiration that aims to amaze and sparkle in the eyes. Every intervention in the operations has a tangible impact, and the human element is inseparable from these production activities, lending an essential dimension to the whole.

Valérie Dubois

It's the heart of the reactor, where we understand how added value is built up, and who are the people involved, the support professions [...] Manufacturing products as leanly as possible, generating less and less waste, also gives us missions.

The uniqueness of this approach lies in a deep passion for the product, expressed through obsessive attention to detail, a commitment to quality, and mastery of exceptional craftsmanship. It is not simply an end result, but occupies a central place, permeating every stage of production.

For Valérie Dubois, Industrial Director of Ateliers de Maroquinerie Louis Vuitton, production and the product are more than just functional elements of her job; they are the driving force behind her career, giving it essential meaning .

A vision of management

To deal with crises, she encourages us to look at and analyze situations through "2 pairs of different glasses":

loading="lazy"
The company view
loading="lazy"
Employees' view

That's how she believes she succeeds in bringing about far-reaching structural change, overhauling work organization and, of course, getting her teams on board. On this last point, she confides that she had to find unprecedented solutions when she became the boss of her colleagues. Her answer? Collaborative management.

This3rd inspiring webinar offered viewers an endless source of inspiration, practical advice and an enlightened vision of professional and personal success.

One last tip?

Valérie Dubois

The network you build up, even in a variety of sectors and professions, feeds you for tomorrow. It pays off in the same way as your own experience.

Thanks to Valérie Dubois
for the invaluable lessons she shared with us with generosity and candor.

Enjoyed it? Discover the full replay, previous episodes and answers to questions asked during this webinar:

loading="lazy"
REPLAY
loading="lazy"
Episode 1

with Annie Saillard, Vice President Operation Digital & Integrated Solutions at ALSTOM and Stéphanie Rott, Director of Operations at GUERLAIN 

loading="lazy"
Episode 2

with Laëtitia Balac-Ruscher, Supply Chain and Logistics Director/Member of Groupe MonoprixComex and Latifa Gahbiche, General Manager SULO France & Switzerland (leading European supplier of innovative sorting solutions).

FAQ

What books can Valérie recommend to help us gain self-confidence?

I can simply recommend a very interesting book: "L'affirmation de soi : Mieux gérer ses relations avec les autres" by Dominique Chalvin (Edition ESF Sciences Humaines).

I've been retraining for 3 years (Bachelor+Master), but how can I "target" a specific Supply Chain job and activity, beyond the size of the company?

The key is experience in the field. Explore various Supply Chain sectors and discover the realities of the field. Consult our guide to higher education courses for detailed advice and guidance tailored to your career path.

The right product, the right place, the right time, the right resources and the right information? Shouldn't we be encouraging girls to go for IT-oriented courses as well as Quality, Industrial Logistics and Organization courses?

Absolutely! For complete success, encouraging girls to go into IT is essential. In addition to the traditional courses, IT plays a crucial role in the supply chain. Take a look at our guide to higher education courses to discover the various paths available.

Do you have any advice on training courses (with or without certification) that provide important keys to a career in supply (in parallel with a job when you're already working)?

Certifying and non-certifying courses can enrich your Supply Chain career while you work. Consult our guide to higher education courses for specific recommendations, as the choice depends on your professional goals and your availability.

FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN © All rights reserved

Skip to main content
25 janvier 2024

Webinar Inspirant : tête à tête avec la Directrice Industrielle des Ateliers de Maroquinerie Louis Vuitton

Mercredi 17 janvier, les projecteurs se sont tournés vers Valérie Dubois, Directrice Industrielle des Ateliers de Maroquinerie Louis Vuitton. Avec 5000 collaborateurs répartis sur 9 sites, cette femme d’influence dévoile les coulisses de son quotidien professionnel et personnel, offrant une perspective rare sur la vie d’une dirigeante accomplie. Cette immersion dans sa réalité quotidienne révèle les défis qu’elle relève avec brio et les leçons inspirantes qu’elle partage avec le public.

Le quotidien d’une Directrice Industrielle

Valérie Dubois

Grâce aux questions de Marie-Laure Furgala, Directrice de l’ISLI MS/MSC en global Supply Chain de KEDGE BUSINESS SCHOOL, Valérie Dubois nous transporte à travers ses journées bien remplies, oscillant entre les réunions stratégiques au siège et l’immersion dans les ateliers de production. Cette dualité entre le tangible sur le terrain et les discussions stratégiques dans les bureaux du siège révèle son équilibre unique.

En tant que mère de deux enfants, elle partage également son approche pour concilier vie professionnelle intense et vie familiale épanouissante. Elle explique par exemple avoir rapidement fait le choix d’être moins présente, de parfois rentrer tard mais d’être présente à 100% pour partager des moments de qualité. C’est ainsi qu’elle a pu combattre son sentiment de culpabilité.

En ce qui concerne la gestion de son emploi du temps, elle a partagé avec nous sa stratégie astucieuse consistant à engager une au-pair. Cette décision lui a permis de mettre fin à la course effrénée contre le temps. De plus, afin de prendre du recul lorsque les exigences opérationnelles deviennent accablantes, elle planifie régulièrement des moments dédiés à son bien-être, que ce soit à travers des séances de soins relaxants ou des sessions de course à pied pour libérer son esprit du tumulte quotidien.

Casser le mythe de la “chance” et cultiver la confiance en soi

En tant que femme occupant une position de leadership, Valérie Dubois dévoile son parcours, soulignant comment elle a surmonté les freins qu’elle s’était parfois imposés, notamment par la manière dont elle se présentait et dont elle expliquait sa présence au poste de Directrice de site. « Je disais, j’ai eu de la chance, mais ce n’est pas vrai, elle se provoque et elle est le résultat de ce que l’on est et de son travail ».

Elle encourage les femmes à être claires dans leur positionnement dès le début de leur carrière, à oser changer et à tester car c’est ainsi que l’on apprend continuellement et car « c’est ça qui donne du sel dans sa carrière ». De plus, de telles trajectoires permettent de gagner en confiance en soi et de se construire pour la suite.

UN SKETCHNOTE RÉALISÉ PAR MYRIAM DUMANCHIN-MAKNI

Un sketchnote réalisé par Myriam Dumanchin-Makni

Son avis sur le coaching et comment elle l’a utilisé au cours de sa carrière

Valérie Dubois

Si c’était à refaire, j’y ferai appel plus tôt pour chercher du feedback, du coaching et une vision à 360.

Selon l’invité de Marie-Laure Furgala, ce type de prestation permet de prendre confiance en soi, de se légitimiser et donc d’oser. Cela donne des clés et le mindset nécessaires afin de briguer un nouveau poste ou de construire la suite de sa carrière.

Mais comment les trouver, et comment trouver ses mentors, des gens de confiance ? Pour cela, Valérie Dubois en tant que manager a une opinion claire : « les entreprises doivent avoir une vraie stratégie de mentoring, c’est hyper important ». Un accompagnement en one to one par un ainé est un booster de carrière et permet également de fidéliser les talents. Cela est valable pour un junior comme un collaborateur expérimenté dont on perçoit les qualités et que l’on souhaite amener jusqu’à une prise de responsabilité nouvelle.

Les opérations et la production : une passion éclairée

Les opérations ne se résument pas simplement à des processus, elles incarnent l’agilité, la complexité, la diversité, et une quête inébranlable de durabilité. C’est bien plus qu’une simple mécanique, c’est une source d’inspiration qui vise à émerveiller et à susciter l’éclat dans les yeux. Chaque intervention dans les opérations a un impact tangible, et l’élément humain est inséparable de ces activités de production, conférant une dimension essentielle à l’ensemble.

Valérie Dubois

C’est le cœur du réacteur, c’est de là que l’on comprend comment se construit la valeur ajoutée, quels sont les intervenants, les métiers supports […] Fabriquer les produits au plus juste, générer de moins en moins de déchets, ça donne aussi des missions.

La singularité de cette approche réside dans une passion profonde pour le produit, exprimée à travers une minutie obsessionnelle, un engagement envers la qualité, et la maîtrise d’un savoir-faire exceptionnel. Il n’est pas simplement un résultat final, mais il occupe une place centrale, imprégnant chaque étape de la production.

Pour Valérie Dubois, Directrice Industrielle des Ateliers de Maroquinerie Louis Vuitton, la production et le produit ne se limitent pas à des éléments fonctionnels de son métier, ils deviennent le moteur qui anime sa carrière et lui donne un sens essentiel.

Une vision du management

Afin de faire face aux crises, elle incite à regarder et à analyser les situations à travers « 2 paires de lunettes différentes » :

La vue de l’entreprise
La vue des collaborateurs

C’est de cette manière qu’elle pense réussir à mener des changements structurels profonds, à revoir une organisation de travail et bien sûr à embarquer les équipes. Sur ce dernier point, elle confie avoir dû trouver des solutions inédites lorsqu’elle est devenue la boss de ses collègues. Sa réponse ? Le management collaboratif.

Ce 3e webinar inspirant a offert aux internautes une source infinie d’inspiration, de conseils pratiques et une vision éclairée de la réussite professionnelle et personnelle.

Un dernier tip ?

Valérie Dubois

Le réseau que l’on se forge même dans des secteurs et des métiers variés, cela nourrit pour demain. Cela porte ses fruits de la même manière que sa propre expérience.

Merci à Valérie Dubois
pour les leçons précieuses qu’elle nous a partagées avec générosité et franchise.
Ça vous a plu ? Découvrez les épisodes précédents :
Épisode 1

avec Annie SaillardVice President Operation Digital & Integrated Solutions d’ALSTOM et Stéphanie RottDirectrice des Opérations chez GUERLAIN 

Épisode 2

avec Laëtitia Balac-Ruscher, Directrice Supply Chain et Logistique/Membre du Comex du Groupe Monoprix et Latifa Gahbiche, Directrice Générale SULO France & Suisse (premier fournisseur européen de solutions de tri innovantes)

POUR visionner le replay et découvrir les réponses aux questions posées lors de ce webinar

ACTUALITÉS


ÉVÈNEMENTS


PRESSE

FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN © All rights reserved

Credits and Legal Mentions      I      RGPD      I      S'abonner      I      Contact      I      Plan du site