THE LETTER FROM FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN #21 - June 2022

TICKET OF THE WEEK
By Bertrand Neyret, Global Supply Chain Champion Saint-Gobain

Information sharing is the best way to absorb crises.

In an increasingly uncertain context, the organised and secure sharing of information between customers and suppliers makes it possible to better absorb the vagaries of the market.

Transparency in the supply chain is an anti-crisis remedy. If the customer regularly shares with his supplier the volumes (but not the turnover) of the products sold, the supplier can predict better... and the customer is less likely to be out of stock. If the supplier regularly shares with its customer the state of its stock, the customer is reassured and will have a more rational buying behaviour. For example, the customer of a materials manufacturer will share information about what is sold at the point of sale. The manufacturer, on the other hand, will share the quantities in stock, and even its production/shipping schedules.

For a manufacturer, having access to more detailed forecasts by product and by geographical area, with a longer time horizon, enables him to better anticipate his production. He himself can provide more forecasts to his key suppliers.

The benefits are many: greater customer satisfaction and fewer supply disruptions. More revenue: the sales effort in the field is not restricted. Lower costs with reduced stocks: when the MAPE (1), the statistical measure of the difference between the forecast and reality, is reduced from 10% to 5%, the safety stock is mathematically divided by 2.

As the relationship remains commercial and subject to competition law, it is a question of securing and organising this sharing in the customer-supplier relationship, sometimes with recourse to a "trusted third party" and a legal framework. A customer does not necessarily want to share his turnover and a producer is not ready to communicate everything about his costs... We will therefore try to limit the sharing to the quantity/volume part.

The rules of the game also need to be clarified. The customer who shares his sales volumes may be looking for a commitment from the supplier on a minimum rate of availability on the shelf in his shops. The supplier who shares his stock levels may be looking for a commitment to a maximum minimum volume limit for each order from his customer. If, despite sharing in good faith, these indicators fall outside the commitment values, what about possible bonus-malus, beyond which gaps?

The crisis makes long-term forecasts difficult, as we have seen in the automotive subcontracting or food processing sectors. To manage these hazards, the collaborative mode can be taken further with reviews and information sharing on a wider panel of supply chain actors. This makes it possible to cross-reference information from different sources: for example, for a chocolate biscuit manufacturer, the packaging supplier will share its forecasts with the cocoa supplier or the supplier of other ingredients. Collectively the information will be more reliable, and all parties can expect to win.

This practice is more developed across the Channel, with thirds of This practice is more developed across the Channel. There are nevertheless examples in France (aeronautical markets, confectionery manufacturers, etc.), but it is sometimes necessary to overcome cultural resistance, where each party defends its own turf, and also to respond to real questions about the reliability of data or cyber security.

The recent crises, and the adversity faced by customers and suppliers, can act as a catalyst. With the common goals of improving service, optimising costs and cash flow and reducing CO2 emissions along the supply chain.

(1) Mean Absolute Percentage Error


HIGHLIGHTS
The impact of inflation on stock management

It had not been forgotten since the 1980s. And now it's back with a vengeance: it's inflation! It should flirt with 6% between now and the summer break and could continue its upward course at the beginning of the new school year, stimulated by the rise in energy, transport, cereals and more generally most food products. This new situation will not fail to affect the supply chain sector: indeed, whether it is a question of real estate or transport, annual contracts are likely to be rediscussed during the year. But another phenomenon will also have to be taken into account: the cost of stock. From a purely accounting point of view, as this is included in the calculation of the result for the year, inflation produces a gap between the fictitious and the real, which will inevitably have an impact on company tax. Similarly, in warehouses, the value of fixed stock will depreciate more quickly. This will lead companies (which will not be able to mechanically pass on the increase in the sale price of products) to speed up the rotation of goods. They will try to reduce the effect of inflation by limiting the average duration of the stock as much as possible, and thus to reduce the financial loss linked to its devaluation. In this context, we can safely predict the great return of just-in-time and a particular craze for stock level optimisation tools. It will also be an opportunity for financial departments to rediscover the strategic virtues of a well-controlled stock level.


NOT TO BE MISSED
When will your supply chain be under attack?

A major issue for your supply chain, digital risk has increased in the face of more connected and integrated structures. As a follow-up to the Supply Chain x Cybersecurity White Paper produced with Wavestone, a webinar has been organised to learn how to deal with cyber attacks.


Events

Find all the events around the Supply Chain.

France Supply Chain Letters

FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN © All rights reserved

LA LETTRE DE FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN #21 • Juin 2022

LE BILLET DE LA SEMAINE
Par Bertrand Neyret, Global Supply Chain Champion Saint-Gobain

Le partage des informations est la meilleure façon d’absorber les crises.

Dans un contexte de plus en plus incertain, le partage – organisé et sécurisé – d’informations entre clients et fournisseurs permet de mieux absorber les aléas du marché.

La transparence dans la Supply Chain est un remède anti-crise. Si le client partage régulièrement avec son fournisseur les volumes (mais pas le chiffre d’affaires) des produits vendus, le fournisseur peut mieux prévoir… et le client risque moins de ruptures. Si le fournisseur partage régulièrement avec son client l’état de son stock, le client est rassuré et va avoir un comportement d’achat plus rationnel. Par exemple, le client d’un fabricant de matériaux va partager les informations sur ce qui est vendu en point de vente. De son côté, le fabricant partagera les quantités en stock, voire ses plannings de fabrications/expéditions.

Pour un industriel, bénéficier de prévisions plus fines par produits et par zones géographiques, à un horizon plus lointain, lui permet de mieux anticiper sa production. Lui-même peut apporter plus de prévisions à ses fournisseurs clefs.

Les bénéfices sont multiples : une plus grande satisfaction client et moins de ruptures d’approvisionnement. Plus de revenus donc : on ne bride pas l’effort commercial sur le terrain. Moins de coûts avec des stocks réduits : Lorsque le MAPE (1), la mesure statistique de l’écart entre la prévision et la réalité, passe de 10% à 5%, le stock de sécurité est mathématiquement divisé par 2.

La relation restant commerciale et soumise au droit de la concurrence, il s’agit de sécuriser et organiser ce partage dans la relation client-fournisseur, avec parfois le recours à un « tiers de confiance » et un encadrement juridique. Un client ne souhaite pas forcément partager son chiffre d’affaires et un producteur n’est pas prêt à tout communiquer sur ses coûts … On cherchera donc déjà à limiter le partage à la partie quantités/volumes.

Il faut aussi clarifier les règles du jeu. Le client qui partage ses volumes de ventes cherchera peut-être un engagement du fournisseur sur un taux minimum disponibilité en rayon dans ses magasins. Le fournisseur qui partage l’état de ses stocks cherchera peut-être un engagement de volume minimum maximum borné lors de chaque commande de son client. Si, malgré le partage de bonne foi, ces indicateurs sortent des valeurs d’engagement, quid d’éventuels bonus-malus, au-delà de quels écarts ?

La crise rend difficile les prévisions à long terme comme on l’a vu dans le secteur de la sous-traitance automobile ou de l’agro-alimentaire. Pour gérer ces aléas, le mode collaboratif peut être poussé plus loin avec des revues et des partages d’information sur un panel plus large d’acteurs de la supply chain. Cela permet de croiser des informations avec des sources différentes : par exemple pour un fabriquant de biscuits au chocolat, le fournisseur d’emballage partagera ses prévisions avec le fournisseur de cacao ou celui apportant d’autres ingrédients. Collectivement l’information sera plus fiable, et l’ensemble des parties peut espérer en sortir gagnant.

Cette pratique est plus développée outre-Manche, avec des tiers de Cette pratique est plus développée outre-Manche. Des exemples existent néanmoins en France (marchés aéronautiques, fabricant de confiseries…), mais il faut parfois vaincre des résistances culturelles ou chacun défend son pré-carré, et répondre aussi à des interrogations réelles sur la fiabilité des données ou la cybersécurité.

Les crises récentes, et l’adversité à laquelle doivent faire face clients et fournisseurs, peuvent jouer ce rôle de catalyseur. Avec comme objectifs communs : une amélioration du service, une optimisation des coûts, de la trésorerie et une diminution des émissions CO2 tout le long de la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

(1) Mean Absolute Percentage Error


FAIT MARQUANT
L’impact de l’inflation sur la gestion des stocks

On ne l’avait oublié depuis les années 80. Et voici qu’elle revient avec force : c’est l’inflation ! Elle devrait flirter avec les 6% d’ici la trêve estivale et pourrait poursuivre sa course ascendante à la rentrée, stimulée par la hausse de l’énergie, des transports, des céréales et plus généralement de la plupart des produits alimentaires. Cette situation nouvelle ne manquera pas d’affecter le secteur de la Supply Chain : en effet qu’il s’agisse, par exemple, d’immobilier ou de transport, les contrats annuels seront vraisemblablement rediscutés en cours d’année. Mais un autre phénomène sera également à prendre en compte : le cout du stock. D’un point de vue purement comptable, celui-ci étant intégré dans le calcul du résultat de l’exercice, l’inflation produit un décalage entre le fictif et le réel qui aura forcément un impact sur l’impôt des sociétés. De même dans les entrepôts, la valeur du stock immobilisé se dépréciera plus vite. Ce qui conduira les entreprises (qui ne pourront pas répercuter mécaniquement la hausse sur le prix de vente des produits) à accélérer la rotation des marchandises. Celles-ci tenteront de réduire l’effet de l’inflation en limitant le plus possible la durée moyenne du stock, et donc d’amoindrir la perte financière liée à sa dévalorisation. Dans ce contexte on peut prédire sans crainte de se tromper, le grand retour du juste à temps et un engouement particulier pour les outils d’optimisation du niveau des stocks. Ce sera également pour les directions financières, l’occasion de redécouvrir les vertus stratégiques d’un niveau de stock bien maîtrisé.


À NE PAS MANQUER
Quand est-ce que votre Supply Chain va se faire attaquer ?

Enjeu majeur de votre Supply Chain, le risque digital a augmenté face aux structures plus connectées et intégrées. Dans la continuité du Livre Blanc Supply Chain x Cybersécurité produit avec Wavestone, un webinar a été organisé pour savoir faire face aux attaques cyber.


Évènements

Retrouvez tous les évènements autour de la Supply Chain.

FRANCE SUPPLY CHAIN © All rights reserved

Credits and Legal Mentions      I      RGPD      I      Contact